Central PA




Lance Dewease scores richest payday in Port Royal Speedway history

PORT ROYAL, PA (September 9, 2017) - Ending a perfect weekend for the Fayetteville, Pennsylvania, native, Lance Dewease scored the richest payday in the history of Port Royal Speedway on Saturday evening, dominating 44 of 50 circuits around the Juniata County Fairgrounds "Speed Palace" to claim the 50th running of the Tuscarora 50 worth $50,000.

Dewease, now with an unprecedented six Tuscarora 50 titles, started sixth on the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions main event grid, taking command officially on lap seven over Kunkletown's Ryan Smith and Central Pennsylvania hotshot, Danny Dietrich. Despite a competition yellow during the midpoint of the 50-lapper, Dewease remained flawless during his campaign at the top of the running order, crossing under the final checkers nearly four seconds ahead of Smith, Brock Zearfoss, a hard-charging Lucas Wolfe, and the "Madman" Kerry Madsen.

"I know how to run this place for 50 laps," Lance Dewease said on the Port Royal Speedway victory lane stage. "We didn't push it real hard at the beginning just because I didn't want to overheat my left rear. I probably could have ran a little faster, but I didn't want to yet. This is all about this team right now. We have a 16-race-old motor in here. It's the 'little engine that can.' My team works their butts off every time we show up to race. It's definitely hard work that gets us here."

The "Kunkletown Kid" Ryan Smith and Western Pennsylvania's own Carl Bowser led the 27 starters to green for the 50th running of the Tuscarora 50. Smith earned the early advantage, racing back to the flagstand for the first time with Danny Dietrich, Lance Dewease and Carl Bowser in tow. Utilizing the very topside of the speedway, Ryan Smith kept command for the first six circuits.

By lap three, Lance Dewease had worked his way underneath Dietrich for second. Four circuits later, Dewease was battling for the top spot, ultimately working underneath Ryan Smith with a textbook slide job at the entrance of turn one. Dietrich followed Dewease's tracks and also worked by Smith, keeping pace with the familiar No. 69K until traffic spoiled Dietrich's momentum on lap 10.

Working as an advantage for the race leader, traffic eventually intensified which allowed Dewease to escape from the rest of the field. By the time the race was stopped for a competition yellow on lap 25, Dewease's command was built to nearly four seconds. During the closing laps before the yellow, Ryan Smith battled back to regain second over Dietrich on lap 17. Brock Zearfoss, who started ninth on the main event grid, also raced around Dietrich to claim third on lap 19.

When green flag conditions resumed on lap 26, Dewease was able to pick up right where he left off and return to the bottom of the speedway. By lap 29, Dewease regrew his lead to 2.5 seconds, still flanked by Ryan Smith and Brock Zearfoss. Even when the trio raced into traffic once again, Dewease maintained all momentum, ultimately crossing under the final checkers 3.948 seconds ahead of Smith and Zearfoss.

"We were fortunate enough to win our heat race which put us in a good starting position," said Dewease, pilot of the familiar Don Kreitz-owned/Sharman Builders/No. 69K. "We had to free ourselves up a little bit during that break. When I got into lapped cars, I started to get really tight. This car loves the clean air. This win is really special to all of us."

In total, Lance Dewease earned $56,350 during his weekend visit to the Port Royal Speedway "Speed Palace." The pair of Arctic Cat All Star victories increases his career win total to 35 with "America's Series."

Returning to Central Pennsylvania for one final time in 2017, the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will continue the month of September with trips to Selinsgrove Speedway and Bedford Fairgrounds Speedway on Saturday and Sunday, September 16-17, respectively. The 35th Annual Jim Nace Memorial/National Open at Selinsgrove Speedway will highlight the weekend venture to the Keystone State, awarding an $8,000 top prize; the final event of the 2017 season at the Penn Township half-mile.

A-Main (50 Laps)1. Lance Dewease; 2. Ryan Smith; 3. Brock Zearfoss; 4. Lucas Wolfe; 5. Kerry Madsen; 6. Danny Dietrich; 7. Brian Brown; 8. Joey Saldana; 9. Ryan Taylor; 10. Greg Hodnett; 11. Mark Smith; 12. Trey Starks; 13. Tony Stewart; 14. Tim Kaeding; 15. Chad Kemenah; 16. Carl Bowser; 17. Dave Blaney; 18. Aaron Reutzel; 19. Dale Blaney; 20. Anthony Macri; 21. Dylan Cisney; 22. Mike Wagner; 23. Brady Bacon; 24. Caleb Armstrong; 25. Tim Shaffer; 26. Max Stambaugh; 27. T.J. Stutts.

Lap Leaders: Ryan Smith [1-6]; Lance Dewease [7-50]

































































 Like The Sprint Car Show on Facebook

Aug. 5
1. Brian Montieth 5155
2. Alan Krimes 4925
3. Jim Siegel 4885
4. Gerard McIntyre Jr.
5. Chad Trout 4735
6. Freddie Rahmer 4620
7. Tim Glatfelter 4580
8. Cory Haas 4580
9. Brandon Rahmer 4500
10. G. Forsythe 4445
358 sprints
1. Adrian Shaffer 4675
2. Matt Findley 4455
3. Doug Hammaker 4390
4. T. Rittenhouse Jr. 4380
5. Brent Shearer 4375
6. Phil Walter 4230
7. Cody Fletcher 4210
8. Ashley Cappetta 4125
9. Dalton Dietrich 4115
10. Brie Hershey 3795

  Williams Grove


Aug. 25

1. Freddie Rahmer 3145
2. Brian Montieth 2820
3. Danny Dietrich 2760
4. Lucas Wolfe 2640
5. Greg Hodnett 2590
6. TJ Stutts 2435
7. Lance Dewease 2380
8. Brock Zearfoss 2150
9. Cory Haas 1905
10. Anthony Macri 1885

358 sprint cars

Aug. 25
1. Kevin Nouse 1030
2. Adrian Shaffer 880
3. Troy Wagaman Jr. 860
4. Phil Walter  815
5. Brie Hershey 790
6. Jared Esh 770
7. Chris Frank 740
8. Matt Findley 730
9. Brett Wanner 705
10. Eric Parker 690


 Super Sportsman

Aug. 27
1. Scott Dellinger 2195
2. Russ Mitten 2170
3. Kenny Edkin 2120
4. Paul Miller 1985
5. Mike Enders 1915
6. Doug Dodson 1795
7. Jay Fannasy  1675
8. Gregg Foster 1545
9. Tony Jackson 1420
10. Davey Walsh  1245


Port Royal

Aug. 5

1. Dylan Cisney 5175
2. T.J. Stutts 5020
3. Brock Zearfoss 4990
4. Mike Wagner 4955
5. Greg Hodnett    4085
6. Kody Lehman 3840
7. Rick Lafferty 3575
8. Curt Stroup 3500
8. Logan Wagner  3500
10. B. Heimbach 3410   


 Aug. 5
1. Davie Franek 3600
2. Jason Shultz 3250
3. Nate Snyder  3020
4. Chad Layton 2915
5. Derek Locke  2710
6. Mark Smith   2655
7. Larry Kelleher 2590
8. Cody Keller  2460
9. Mallie Shuster 2395
10. Ryan Kissinger 2335


"The Dirt Track Channel", "Open Wheel Today" and "All Dirt, All the time" are trademarks of Shawn Wood Productions