website statistics



     Non Wing Sprint Cars  



Kerzman Holds Off Emerson By .175 Seconds For Legendary 100 Win
New Richmond, WI

By: Greg Parent, UMSS Media Director (9-14-17)

Jeremy Kerzman of Gray Eagle, MN is no stranger to Rock Auto Victory Lane at the Cedar Lake Speedway.  Coming into the Legendary 100 non-point show for the UMSS Traditional sprint cars on Thursday evening September 14, Kerzman had won six times at the popular western Wisconsin dirt oval in TSCS action over the past couple of seasons.  Make that seven wins now, as Kerzman held off rookie competitor Caley Emerson by .175 seconds at the finish to record his fifth win of the season and fourth at Cedar Lake in 2017.  The win paid Kerzman $500, as he became the first Traditional sprint car driver to earn a Legendary 100 title.  Twice in the previous two years the Traditional sprints had attempted to run at the Legendary 100, and twice those planned opening night events were washed out.  Not so on this very warm and muggy late summer night.

All seventeen cars took the green flag for the 25 lap feature race.  Kerzman immediately jumped up top and set a quick pace.  The lone caution of the race flew when Bryan Roach spun in turn 4 with seven laps scored.  Kerzman took off again on the restart, as rookie competitor Caley Emerson began working his way forward from fourth.  Emerson had started fifth on the grid.  On lap 12, Emerson moved past Mueller for second.  Sixth starter Rick Kobs, subbing for the injured Ty Sampair in his N1 sprinter, was also working his way forward.  On lap 18, Kobs moved to third place.  The laps continued to click off under the green, but fans could see that both Emerson and Kobs were slowly closing the margin on the leader.  With just a couple laps to go, Emerson closed to within a few car lengths of Kerzman with Kobs close behind.  A hard charge coming to the white flag would see Emerson close up right behind Kerzman, but Kerzman stretched his advantage a bit exiting turn two on the final lap.  Another valiant effort in turn four on the final lap would see Emerson come up just .175 seconds short at the checkers in an exciting finish.  Kobs wasn't far behind the lead duo to finish third.  Rounding out the top five finishers was Schafer and Lewerer.  Jake Kouba, Mueller, Jimmy Kouba, Blake Anderson and late model racer Harry Hanson completed the top ten.  Only one car failed to finish with fifteen cars still on the lead lap at the checkers.

The Traditional sprints will close out their season on Friday and Saturday, September 15-16, at the Clay County Fair in Spencer, Iowa and at the Deer Creek Speedway south of Rochester.  They will be joined by the UMSS 360 winged sprints and the IRA 410 Outlaw Sprints both nights.  Weather permitting, the Spencer race will mark the first time the Traditional sprints have ventured to Iowa.  They were scheduled to race in Iowa on August 26 at Decorah, but rainy weather forced cancellation of that event.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Jeremy Kerzman, 2. Caley Emerson, 3. N1-Rick Kobs, 4. Cam Schafer, 5. Jon Lewerer, 6. Jake Kouba, 7. Mike Mueller, 8. Jimmy Kouba, 9. Blake Anderson, 10. Harry Hanson, 11. Brad Peterson, 12. Cody Emmans, 13. Bryan Roach, 14. Brian VanMeveren, 15. Hunter Custer, 16. Jake Hendrickson. DNF Johnny Parsons III.

Lap Leader: Kerzman 1-25.



Haubstadt, IN - August 25, 2017 -  Race fans will have an opportunity to celebrate the upcoming holiday while enjoying the sport of auto racing by attending this season’s “Labor Day Weekend Challenge.”  The special program at Tri-State Speedway will be presented on Sunday September 3rd.  The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will share the racing card and divide track time with the UMP Modifieds.  This open wheel combination always promises an action packed double header.  The sprint car drivers will be running for $3,000 to win. The Modified drivers will be racing for an increased purse with $1,000 going to the winner of their feature.

The eleven prior opportunities to sanction and complete this particular event have produced 7 different MSCS “Labor Day Weekend Challenge” winners.  Kyle Cummins of Princeton, IN, won the “Challenge” the last two seasons.  Two other drivers have also posted multiple wins in this annual event.  They are Missouri drivers Daron Clayton and Hunter Schuerenberg.  Clayton leads with three wins and Schuerenberg has two.  Veteran Jon Stanbrough was the winner at the “Challenge” in 2014.  Chris Windom, Scotty Weir, and Blake Fitzpatrick have also made victory lane appearances after taking a “Challenge.”

The 2017 “Challenge” could produce a fourth repeat winner or reward a first time winner.  The twelve other MSCS races held so far this year have attracted 101 different sprint car drivers.  A strong representation of these competitors are expected to be present Sunday the 3rd to contest for the $3,000 to win and the “Challenge” trophy.

Only three races remain on the MSCS schedule and all three are at Tri-State Speedway.  The one and only “Haubstadt Hustler” combining USAC and MSCS teams is set for Saturday Sept. 16th.  After that event only one race will remain.  That is the “Harvest Cup” set for Saturday October 7th.  MSCS Champion and Rookie of the Year honors depend on the outcomes of these final three events.

The MSCS series last raced on August 12th.  Tyler Thomas won the feature that night at Lincoln Park Speedway.  MSCS last raced at Haubstadt on August 5th.  Kevin Thomas Jr. won the Hoosier Sprint Nationals then.  Meanwhile Brady Short has been building on his season points lead.  He is now up 132 markers.  Carson Short remains second in the standings.  Brandon Mattox has solo possession of third place.  Kyle Cummins, Robert Ballou. and Kent Schmidt are next in order and reaching for a top five spot.  All three are knotted together with 498 points each.  Kendall Ruble and Ben Knight are seventh and eighth in the standings and One-Two in the MSCS Rookie of the Year quest.  Donny Brackett and Dakota Jackson round out the top ten.

Racing begins at 7:30 P.M. on Sunday night September 3rd.  Group qualifying will be held earlier with warm-ups to begin at 6 P.M. Central Time.  It’s sprints, modifieds, and all the exciting action the Class Track can provide!



























"The Dirt Track Channel", "Open Wheel Today" and "All Dirt, All the time" are trademarks of Shawn Wood Productions