Dirt Late Models




Richards Wins Opening Night of Lucas Oil Knoxville Late Model Nationals


KNOXVILLE, IOWA (September 14, 2017)- Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series point leader, Josh Richards took the lead on lap 16 from Jared Landers and then held off Landers to take the opening night of the 14th Annual Lucas Oil Knoxville Late Model Nationals at Knoxville Raceway. Richards started ninth on the grid and darted around leader Jimmy Owens, who pulled out of the race while leading.

Landers - who missed the events at Knoxville Raceway last year due to health issues - finished second in the Larry Moring Motorsports, Black Diamond. Jonathan Davenport finished third in the G.R. Smith, Rocket Chassis. Brandon Sheppard finished in fourth, and Don O'Neal completed the top five.

The 25-lap race saw four different leaders with Kyle Bronson, Landers, Owens, and Richards each holding the top spot during the race. The 29-year-old Richards who has four second-place finishes in the $40,000 finale on Saturday night is seeking his first career win in the crown jewel event.

"We had a really good car," said the winner in Lucas Oil Victory Lane. "I hate it for Jimmy. He had a good car as well. I am not sure whether an oil line came off or what. Our car felt good on the bottom. We need to work on it some for Saturday's big one. That cushion up against the wall was a little too treacherous for me. It feels good to get a win tonight. "

"The car was really fast. This track is tricky. We have never won the big one here at Knoxville so this would be a good weekend to get it done. To get a big night under our belts like tonight means a lot. We will work on it tomorrow and hopefully be even better tomorrow night. "

The Eric and Kelly Brock-owned, Best Performance Motorsports, Rocket Chassis is powered by a Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Bulk Material Lift, Valvoline, Corey Frazier-State Farm, Keyser, Riggs Motorsports, Integra, Sunoco, Alexander Lawn and Landscaping, and Ultimate Firepit.

Landers charged hard at the end, but couldn't catch Richards even in traffic. "Thanks to all the crew guys for their help. This is a brand-new car - the first-time we have been on the track with it. I am happy right now. We had a good shot to win tonight."

Davenport took the third spot after starting seventh. "I finally found a line I liked out there. It was tricky through one and two there. We will take some good notes from tonight and be ready for tomorrow night."

Completing the top ten were Jimmy Mars, Dale McDowell, Bobby Pierce, Shannon Babb, and Chase Junghans.

A main (25 Laps): 1. Josh Richards; 2. Jared Landers; 3. Jonathan Davenport; 4. Brandon Sheppard; 5. Don O'Neal; 6. Jimmy Mars; 7. Dale McDowell; 8. Bobby Pierce; 9. Shannon Babb; 10. Chase Junghans; 11. Chad Simpson; 12. Jesse Stovall; 13. Brian Shirley; 14. Timothy Culp; 15. Scott Bloomquist; 16. Jason Feger; 17. Steve Francis; 18. Spencer Diercks; 19. Hudson O'Neal; 20. Kyle Bronson; 21. Matt Furman; 22. Jimmy Owens; 23. Greg Satterlee; 24. Mike Marlar.

Lap Leaders: Bronson 1, Landers 2-13, Owens 14-15, Richards 16-25.

Point Totals for Night #1
1. Jonathan Davenport 496
2. Josh Richards 484
3. Don O'Neal 484
4. Jared Landers 482
5. Brandon Sheppard 463
6. Scott Bloomquist 463
7. Brian Shirley 462
8. Shannon Babb 460
9. Chad Simpson 456
10. Bobby Pierce 455
11. Dale McDowell 454
12. Chase Junghans 452
13. Jimmy Owens 451
14. Mike Marlar 450
15. Jimmy Mars 447
16. Timothy Culp 447
17. Hudson O'Neal 447
18. Jesse Stovall 440
19. Steve Francis 436
20. Kyle Bronson 436
21. Greg Satterlee 436
22. Jason Feger 425
23. Spencer Diercks 424
24. Chris Simpson 416
25. Matt Furman 413
26. Tim McCreadie 407
27. Earl Pearson Jr. 401
28. Jeremiah Hurst 401
29. Ryan Gustin 390
30. Darrell Lanigan 390
31. Rodney Sanders 387
32. Brent Larson 385
33. Billy Moyer Jr. 385
34. Tyler Erb 384
35. Dennis Erb Jr. 381
36. Tyler Bruening 373
37. Boom Briggs 368
38. John Anderson 363
39. Jay Johnson 360
40. Jordan Yaggy 357
41. Kent Robinson 345
42. Jonathan Brauns 338
43. Joey Moriarty 329
44. Jake O'Neil 327
45. Tim Lance 326
46. Joel Callahan 320
47. Dave Eckrich 317
48. Jason Rauen 314
49. Randy Timms 311
50. Colton Flinner 310
51. Chris Spieker 306
52. Billy Moyer 305
53. Mike Fryer 300
54. Justin Duty 299
55. Scott James 290
56. Bob King 286


Dirt Track World Championship Goes Back in Time with 'Throwback Weekend'


BATAVIA, OH (September 13, 2017) - Another historic celebration of the sport is in store for fans during the 37th Annual Rhino Ag Dirt Track World Championship - Presented by Optima Batteries on Oct. 20-21 at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series announced a 'Throwback Weekend' theme for the $100,000-to-win crown jewel event that closes the national tour's 2017 schedule. During the huge two-day racing program participating drivers - including the Lucas Oil Series' superstar regulars - will unveil "throwback" paint schemes and wraps mirroring the look of memorable cars they drove earlier in their careers, adding a healthy dose of nostalgia to one of Dirt Late Model racing's most prestigious events.

"Our history defines us," said Rick Schwallie, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Director. "Without history, we wouldn't know where we've come from or where we're going. Legendary drivers and loyal fans have all played a role in defining our sport, and seeing all the throwback schemes out there racing at Portsmouth Raceway Park will bring back plenty of memories. We're looking forward to an exciting weekend for fans and drivers alike."

As part of the 'Throwback Weekend' campaign, a silent auction will take place the afternoon of Sat., Oct. 21, in PRP's vendor midway area during which attendees will have the opportunity to bid on the throwback door panels used by participating drivers. Following that evening's 100-lap DTWC finale, the drivers will remove the doors from their cars and autograph them for auction winners.

All proceeds from the DTWC silent auction, which will include other various items, will be donated to a relief fund benefitting victims of Hurricanes Harvey and Irma.

"We encourage all competitors to participate and donate to this worthy cause," Schwallie said. "With the recent devastation in Texas and Florida we wanted to bring our racing family together to support everyone in those affected areas."

Advance tickets to the 37th Annual Rhino Ag Dirt Track World Championship - Presented by Optima Batteries, which includes a double-heat qualifying program for the Lucas Oil Series on Fri., Oct. 20, are on sale now through Oct. 11. Advance three-day general-admission tickets are just $50 for adults (ages 18-and-up); $30 for students (ages 12-17); and $15 for children (ages 7-11). Advance three-day all-access pit passes are $60.























































































Sept. 4
1. Josh Richards 7060
2. Tim McCreadie 6930
3. Scott Bloomquist 6880
4. Jimmy Owens 6330
5. Don O'Neal 6325
6. Earl Pearson Jr. 6190
7. Darrell Lanigan 6170
8. Dennis Erb Jr. 5940
9. Gregg Satterlee 5715
10. Hudson O'Neal 5655





"The Dirt Track Channel", "Open Wheel Today" and "All Dirt, All the time" are trademarks of Shawn Wood Productions